Take control of your career

Future Skills today

South Africa is AGILE

view videos       search databases


    The SATN was established in 2006 by five Universities of Technology i.e. Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Central University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, Tshwane University of Technology and the Vaal University of Technology. In September 2009 Mangosuthu University of Technology became a member and in September 2010 the Namibia University of Science and Technology joined the SATN as a member.



    Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT)
    Central University of Technology, Free State (CUT)
    Durban University of Technology (DUT)
    Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT)
    Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)
    Vaal University of Technology (VUT)
    Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)

    • The mandate and goals of the SATN are to:
    • Provide a forum to discuss higher education (HE) issues pertinent to UoTs, including cooperative education, teaching, research, technology transfer and innovation, etc.
    • Advocate the needs, interests and purposes of technological universities and their communities to government, industry and other relevant groups.
    • Develop policy positions and guidelines on various related HE matters.
    • Promote collaboration and partnership amongst UoTs, between UoTs and other universities, as well as with government and other relevant stakeholders.
    • Encourage international cooperation.
    • Foster links and exchange of information with similar organisations in South Africa and abroad.
    • Act as a source of information on technological higher education Institutions in South Africa and internationally.
    • Promote the sharing of best practices in higher education.


    • Contribution to the higher education differentiation discourse
    • Effective communication with the Ministry and Department of Higher Education and Training and other relevant Ministries and stakeholders
    • Organising world class SATN Conferences and like events
    • Enhancing the knowledge base and filling the innovation chasm in the areas of housing, water, energy, agriculture, biotechnology, etc.
    • Fostering Skills Development Partnerships
    • Contributing to Socio-Economic Development and Regional Innovation
    • Partnerships with the TVET (Post School) Sector
    • Develop Performance Indicators for the UoT Sector
    • Facilitate Internationalisation
    • Strengthening the capacity of the SATN Secretariat
    • Promotion of Transformation
Bright futuresDemostart with education
    • Location

      SATN Office
      Tshwane University of Technology
      Alma du Toit House
      210 Steve Biko Street
      Sunny Side

      Tel: (012) 382 4896
      Fax: 086 623 7678

      Follow us

    • Contact us